0 Current Restrictions

0 Upcoming Restrictions

Lewistown Area Press Release Updated: Feb. 26, 2016 (2 months, 1 week ago)

Date: February 25, 2016
Contact: Karly DeMars, (406) 538-1991 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE


(BLAINE COUNTY, MT) - Due to dry and windy conditions in Blaine County, Blaine County Commissioners and Fort Belknap Fire Management are implementing a “burn ban” effective immediately.

All burning associated with debris disposal or agricultural clearing is prohibited until further notice. The burn ban applies to all outdoor burning except recreational cooking fires.

No burn permits will be issued until conditions improve.

The public is reminded that even the smallest spark has the potential to cause significant damage, so please do your part to prevent wildfires: One Less Spark, One Less Wildfire.

Please contact Blaine County Sheriff’s Office at (406) 357-3260 or Fort Belknap Fire Management at (406) 353-4874 for more information.

Because burn bans and restrictions can vary across the region, it’s important to know before you go. For up-to-date fire restrictions information, please visit


Lewistown Area Information Updated: Sept. 10, 2015 (7 months, 4 weeks ago)

The Lewistown Area Restrictions Group includes representatives from state, county, local, tribal and federal firefighting entities and coordinates fire restrictions on federal, state and private lands in the Lewistown Fire Restrictions Area, covering north-central and extreme northeastern Montana.

The counties include: Hill, Blaine, Phillips, Valley, Sheridan, Daniels, Roosevelt, Chouteau, Judith Basin, Fergus, Petroleum, Wheatland and Golden Valley.

The tribal agencies include: Rocky Boy's Agency/Chippewa Cree Tribe; Fort Belknap Indian Reservation; and Fort Peck Tribe.

The state agencies include: Montana Department of Natural Resource and Conservation; Montana Department of Fish, Wildlife and Parks; and Montana Department of Disaster and Emergency Services.

The federal agencies include: Bureau of Land Management; Bureau of Reclamation; Bureau of Indian Affairs; U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service; U.S. Forest Service; U.S. Army Corps of Engineers; and the National Weather Service.