2 Current Restrictions

Madison County: private land, Dillon at Stage I

from 2016 Aug 02 midnight to 2016 Nov 30 midnight

With the high fire activity I feel we need to put Stage 1 restrictions in place. If you have any objections please email me before the end of the week or we will proceed with the resolution next Monday. Just to review the restrictions here they are:

The following acts are prohibited until further notice:
1. Building, maintaining, attending, or using a fire or campfire unless noted in the exemptions below.
2. Smoking, except within an enclosed vehicle or building, a developed recreation site or while stopped in an area at least three feet in diameter that is barren or cleared of all flammable materials.

1. Persons with a written permit that specifically authorizes the otherwise prohibited act.
2. Persons using a device solely fueled by liquid petroleum or LPG fuels that can be turned on and off. Such devices can only be used in an area that is barren or cleared of all overhead and surrounding flammable materials within 3 feet of the device.
3. Persons conducting activities in those designated areas where the activity is specifically authorized by written posted notice.
4. Any Federal, State, or local officer or member of an organized rescue or firefighting force in the performance of an official duty.
5. All land within a city boundary is exempted.
6. Other exemptions unique to each agency/tribe.

An exemption does not absolve an individual or organization from liability or responsibility for any fire started by the exempted activity.


Dustin Tetrault
Director of Disaster and Emergency Services
Madison County, Montana
Wk: 406-843-4253
Cell: 406-596-0171

Beaverhead County: private land, Dillon at Local Burn Ban

from 2016 Aug 01 midnight to 2016 Nov 30 midnight

Debris burning by permit is closed due to fire season.

0 Upcoming Restrictions

Dillon Area Press Release

Dillon Area Information Updated: May 5, 2012 (4 years, 4 months ago)

The Dillon Fire restrictions area covers Beaverhead and Madison Counties in Southwest Montana. It encompasses lands administered by the Beaverhead Deerlodge National Forest, Bureau of Land Management, Bureau of Reclamation, US Fish and Wildlife Service, National Park Service, Montana DNRC and Montana FWP. Fire activities on private lands are administered by the County Fire Wardens and Chiefs of individual fire districts.